Three for…Wednesday?

So, I’m going to quickly geek out over three very different, very awesome looking films that are slated to be released in the coming year. Let’s start with a fun, plot-what-plot?, action packed movie starring beefy sweaty dudes with swords and hot chicks wearing too many clothes.

Conan The Barbarian – August 19, 2011
Starring: Jason Momoa, Rose McGowan, Ron Pearlman, and Rachel Nichols
Directed by: Marcus Nispel (Friday the 13th)
Written by: Thomas Dean Donnelly, Joshua Oppenheimer, Sean Hood

“The tale of Conan the Cimmerian and his adventures across the continent of Hyboria on a quest to avenge the murder of his father and the slaughter of his village.” – IMDB

My thoughts: Will it be CGI’d to death, contrived, and full of plot holes/questionable dialogue? Absolutely. Is Jason Momoa hot? Is Rose McGowan awesome? Do I love outrageous stunts and over-the-top effects? Hell yes. So yeah, I’m going to see it. I’ll probably just end up trying to figure out who would win in a fight: Conan or Khal Drogo.

Retreat – 2011
Starring: Cillian Murphy, Thandie Newton, Jamie Bell
Directed by: Carl Tibbetts
Written by: Carl Tibbetts and Janice Hallett (both first time writers and directors)

“Kate and Martin escape from personal tragedy to an Island Retreat. Cut off from the outside world, their attempts to recover are shattered when a Man is washed ashore, with news of airborne killer disease that is sweeping through Europe.” – IMDB

My thoughts: I know how this entire movie is going to go and to be honest, I don’t care. I love Cillian Murphy (especially with his real accent this time) and Jamie Bell. Regardless of predictability, it is so on.

Martha Marcy May Marlene – July 10, 2011
Starring: Elizabeth Olsen (yes, as in Mary-Kate and Ashley’s little sister), Hugh Dancy, Sarah Paulson, and John Hawkes
Directed and written by: Sean Turkin

“Haunted by painful memories and increasing paranoia, a damaged woman struggles to re-assimilate with her family after fleeing an abusive cult.” – IMDB

My thoughts: This movie is already getting Oscar buzz and I’m a sucker for movies about cults. The cinematography looks gorgeous based on the trailer and I’m anticipating a sort of Hard Candy feeling – you know, stressed out, tense, a bit jumpy? And as always, I am attracted to one of the male leads. What can I say? I’m boy crazy!

Ready? Set. Film talk!

