1. Super 8 (not to be confused with the motel chain)

Super 8 – June 10, 2011
Starring: Kyle Chandler, Elle Fanning, Joel Courtney, David Gallagher (what?)
Written and directed by: J.J. Abrams

My thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed Super 8. I think it had a great mixture of character focus, mystery, and sci-fi. I think J.J. learned from his experience making Cloverfield that we should actually be allowed to see the big, scary monster. He took his sweet time giving us a good shot, but it was worth it. The alien was pretty cool looking – kind of Cloverfield-esque in all honesty.

I couldn’t help leaving the theater thinking Super 8 was a bit reminiscent of E.T. which wasn’t surprising considering the fact that both films were produced by the legendary Mr. Steven Spielberg. I’m not saying the plot is exactly the same, but the concept of a misunderstood alien trying to get home is there. In all honesty, Super 8 was a combination of The Goonies, Stand by Me, E.T., and Cloverfield. Not a bad thing.

The acting was pretty top notch, the kids being the best part of the whole thing. I laughed out loud at a few of the lines. Plus, the soundtrack kicked ass (Blondie, ELO, and The Knack – and then some!) Having recently worked on a film myself (starring the wonderful Teri Clark who has a brief part in Super 8! How cool!), I especially enjoyed seeing Charles, played by Riley Griffths, freak out over his own film in the movie.

All in all, it was a good movie. I don’t have any major qualms. It might have had a bit too much of a happy ending for my taste, but it ended up being a feel-good movie, which shouldn’t be a surprise considering kids were the main cast.

So, how many stars: 3.5/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

