25: Lars and the Real Girl (no, I can’t get enough Gosling)

Lars and the Real Girl – October 27, 2011
Starring: Ryan Gosling, Kelli Garner, Emily Mortimer, Paul Schneider
Written by: Nancy Oliver
Directed by: Craig Gillespie

The plot: “A delusional young guy strikes up an unconventional relationship with a doll he finds on the Internet.” – IMDB

My thoughts: What could have been a creepy, weird, unlikable movie that ruined the wonder that is Ryan Gosling, ended up being one of the most compelling movies I’ve ever seen. My heart swelled, my eyes might have gotten a bit clouded by tears, and I was just really blown away.

I don’t know what to say about this movie aside from the fact that I genuinely loved it. I was emotionally invested in all of the characters. I felt nervous when I thought one of the characters wouldn’t be so accepting of Lars’s “girlfriend” and when the people in how town embraced Bianca (the doll), it restored my faith in humanity.

It was a wonderful movie. I won’t waste a bunch of time gushing – but just see it.

*****

One thought on “25: Lars and the Real Girl (no, I can’t get enough Gosling)

  1. Pingback: 30: Fright Night (starring: HOTTIES.) « threesixfivefilm

Ready? Set. Film talk!

