28: Fired Up! (yeah, I really did watch this)

Fired Up! – February 20, 2009
Starring: Nicholas D’Agosto, Eric Christian Olsen, Sarah Roemer, Molly Sims
Written by: Freedom Jones
Directed by: Will Gluck

The plot: “The two most popular guys in high school decide to ditch football camp for cheerleader camp. For the girls and for the glory.” – IMDB

My thoughts: Cliched? Yes. Sophomoric? Yes. Enjoyable? Yes. So yeah, I actually did sit down and watch this movie…on purpose and I don’t regret it.

Sometimes, all I want is to watch a raunchy comedy where the guy gets the girl, a simple lesson is learned and I can live vicariously through hot “teens.” The movie was just about what you would expect – two guys trying to get laid left and right at a cheerleading camp, strange slang terms for “sex” and “vagina” and “penis” that, to be honest, made me giggle a fair number of times. Plus, I can’t help but love seeing bromances on screen that seem like they were probably equally as bromantic in real life.

Juliette Goglia, played the younger sister of one the male leads, was an utter delight as a foul-mouthed, all business freshman who could make anything happen. The characters were so over the top that I couldn’t help but find most of the movie extremely humorous. And the fact is, I feel like I’ve encountered guys like the one’s in the movie. And by that, I mean I know a lot of charming assholes that you hate to love.

And of course, what’s a cheerleading movie without a reference to Bring It On? At the camp, all of the girls sit in a big field with a giant screen watching and quoting the greatest cheerleading movie of all time. And I was right there with them.

If it’s a night in with the girls, it’s definitely watchable. Nicholas D’Agosto and Eric Christan Olsen are both cute and there’s a little bit of romantic stuff thrown in. And guys? I don’t know, it’s a little raunchy and the girls are hot.

Stars: 3/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

