35: Somewhere (it kind of went…nowhere)

Somewhere – December 22, 2010
Starring: Stephen Dorff, Elle Fanning, Chris Pontius
Written and directed by: Sofia Coppola

The plot: “A hard-living Hollywood actor re-examines his life after his 11-year-old daughter surprises him with a visit.” – IMDB

My thoughts: I’m a pretty die-hard Sofia Coppola – scratch that, Coppola family – fan. One of my favorite movies is The Virgin Suicides and I genuinely love Marie Antoinette. Lost in Translation is my least favorite Sofia movie. But either way, I was excited for this one.

And to be honest, it didn’t deliver. While she doesn’t make what one would call “uplifting” movies, they tend to have a spark to them that makes you feel good. This one left me bored. I think Elle Fanning is a great little actress and she brought a lot to the movie. She seems to have such a natural way about her when she’s on screen. But the plot just didn’t hold up.

The movie is supposed to be about a movie star who’s clearly a douchebag, but spending time with his daughter makes him change his ways. To be honest, I didn’t see him re-examining much of anything. His big changes were telling strippers “now isn’t a good time” and at the very end miraculously having some kind of breakthrough, realizing he doesn’t even have a real personality.

There were some good things, though. The chemistry between Dorff and Fanning was really nice, the soundtrack was great (which you can count on with a Coppola movie), and my true love Robert Schwartzman (her nephew) had a quick cameo in it. It wasn’t all bad, but it just didn’t have what her other movies do. Maybe I just have an issue when she writes her own material.

Stars: 2/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

