36: Buried

Buried – September 24, 2010
Starring: Ryan Reynolds, a box, a cellphone, a pencil, a lighter
Written by: Chris Sparling
Directed by: Rodrigo Cortés

The plot: “Paul is a U.S. truck driver working in Iraq. After an attack by a group of Iraqis he wakes to find he is buried alive inside a coffin. With only a lighter and a cell phone it’s a race against time to escape this claustrophobic death trap.” – IMDB

My thoughts: You know, this movie could have full on sucked. I mean, the entire thing takes place in a box. But for the most part, it was interesting and I wanted him to get out of the box. I also wanted him to tear his clothes off in frustration.

I’m not sure what I can say about this movie. Hot guy in a box, dealing with terrorists and trying to survive. The thing that was interesting is that he spent all this time calling dozens of people and you’d think their reactions to him saying “Yo, I’m in a coffin in Iraq, buried underground,” people would be like “whoa, shit! Let me try to help you out, bud!” Nope, everyone was like “Okay, so you’re where? Are you sure you’re buried? Are you sure you’re not a soldier? Hang on, I’m going to transfer you to Human Resources, mmkay?” But the thing is, you know that’s exactly how it would go down in real life. The government wouldn’t be quick to try to save you because you’re just some person who has found him or herself in an unfortunate situation.

It was definitely an interesting movie – kind of a bold plot to turn into a feature-length ending. And I won’t spoil the ending for you, but it was refreshing, I’ll say that much. I know this isn’t an especially in-depth review but I found it enjoyable, much better than expected. It isn’t the greatest ever, but it was innovative in terms of plot and only having one actor, trapped in a box.

Stars: 4/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

