37: Fanboys (FTW!)

Fanboys – February 6, 2009
Starring: Sam Huntington, Chris Marquette, Dan Fogler, Jay Baruchel, Kristen Bell
Written by: Ernest Cline and Adam F. Goldberg
Directed by: Kyle Newman

The plot: Star Wars fans travel to Skywalker Ranch to steal an early copy of Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace.

My thoughts: I am admittedly a fangirl. I’m a geek. I love “Doctor Who“, technology, and cult TV. So maybe I’m not a fangirl to the degree that I know the entire Star Wars saga like I know the episodes of “Battlestar Galactica“, but I like them. Enough to wear t-shirts (okay, I would wear them if I could afford to buy new, fresh clothes.) So this movie was absolutely, totally perfect. Every Star Wars/sci-fi geek should see it.

The cast was stupendous. A group of four guys whom I really like – they look like geeks and probably are. And then there’s Kristen Bell who I have a giant girl-crush on. Whether she’s Veronica Mars, Sarah Marshall, or Uda Bengt, I love her. I feel like would be pals. And she’s a total babe! And then…oh God, I was going to say don’t get me started on the cameos and small bit roles but I got myself started.

Kevin Smith and Jason Mewes (that’s right, Jay and Silent Bob.) Carrie Fisher (Leia!) Seth Rogen. Danny Trejo. Joe Lo Truglio. Billy Dee Williams. William Shatner. Will Forte. Craig Robinson. Lou Taylor Pucci. Danny McBride. Is that enough to convince you guys that it’s awesome?

No? Okay, let’s get serious. What really got me is that the movie’s got heart. It’s not just about a group of guys (and a gal) who decide they’re going to storm Skywalker Ranch and steal Episode 1, it’s about all of the guys getting back to their roots and following their passion. Eric’s (Huntington) father (played by Christopher McDonald, for real) is totally Vader, coaxing him over to the dark side to, wanting him to take over the (car sales) empire. But all sonny wants to do is make comics!

There is something in the plot that makes it more than just a road trip movie, but I don’t want to spoil it. It’s a heartwarming, I would say coming of age but really, they’re all grown men, story. References were made, cameos happened, I laughed, I didn’t cry (though I did say “aw” a few times) and I had a rockin’ good time.

If you’re a geek or know geeks or somehow involved in the geekin’ community, you’ll fully identify with the characters or at least say “Oh God, I totally know someone just like that.” I really, really recommend it. A lot. You want to watch this movie…

(That was a Jedi mind trick, now do it asshole.)

Stars: 5/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

