43: In Time

In Time – October 28, 2011
Starring: Justin Timberlake, Amanda Seyfried, Cillian Murphy, Vincent Kartheiser
Written and directed by: Andrew Niccol

The plot: “In a future where people stop aging at 25, but are engineered to live only one more year, having the means to buy your way out of the situation is a shot at immortal youth. Here, Will Salas finds himself accused of murder and on the run with a hostage – a connection that becomes an important part of the way against the system.” – IMDB

My thoughts: Okay, let me get this out of the way and say that the plot of this movie was basically Robin Hood meets Bonnie and Clyde in the not-too-distant future – which isn’t a bad thing! In fact, the concept was really kind of cool. (It probably helps that I’ve really been on dystopian society kick. I can’t help that I love The Hunger Games!) Stuff like this strikes me as being interesting.

Allow the two 17-year-old girls sitting behind me to sum it up for you. “Okay, so like, the rich people have all of the stuff and the poor people can’t get any of it. And the rich people could help but they won’t so the poor people just die. It’s kind of fucked up – like, actually, that’s kind of how it is in real life.” I can’t quite figure out if one of the girls was explaining it to the other or if one of them was having an epiphany about the plot and symbolism. It wasn’t what I would call “deep”.

Anyway, Justin Timberlake. I think he’s a funny guy. Maybe he’s a bit of a douchebag, but he’s charismatic. I know, I know, so was Hitler and look what he did. But Timberlegend probably isn’t into genocide. He makes bangin’ music and he’s a good SNL host, but an actor that does not make. He’s not the worst – he’s not Eric Freeman from Silent Night, Deadly Night Part 2 (then again, who can top this?), but he’s just not great. He really does try, though. And the man looks good in a suit.

On the other hand, Cillian Murphy and Vincent Kartheiser destroyed their roles in the best way. All kinds of brooding and smirking and strutting and mmm! They were magnificent. Their scenes together were especially wonderful, all tense and silently strong. And Amanda Seyfried? Not unbelievable but enjoyable as per usual.

I don’t know about the movie. I feel really in the middle about it. I can’t quite figure out what to say. I think the concept was cool and they could have done a lot with it, but as my friend said “It was just all really anti-climactic” and that’s totally true. Stuff was happening but it was just…kind of blah. I was never biting my nails or shocked throughout the film, nor were my senses tingling from awesome action sequences.

I think that at the end of the day, I would have rather encountered this story in book form with plenty of details, character development, and a real chance for a lot to happen.

Also, I just want to point out that the working title of this movie was ‘NOW’ and I cannot think of a shittier film title.

Stars: 2.5/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

