49: Our Idiot Brother

Our Idiot Brother – August 26, 2011
Starring: Paul Rudd, Elizabeth Banks, Zooey Deschanel, Emily Mortimer, Rashida Jones, Steve Coogan, Adam Scott
Written by: David Schisgall, Evgenia Peretz
Directed by: Jesse Peretz

The plot: “A comedy centered on an idealist who barges into the lives of his three sisters.” – IMDB

My thoughts: I find Paul Rudd to be undeniably charming and wonderful and I WANT TO MARRY HIM. Ahem. Anyway, I like Paul Rudd and I’ll get it out of the way and say that he was really enjoyable in this movie. Despite having a certain…caveman hippie look about him, I found him to be adorable still. His character, Ned, is a bit too trusting and gives everyone the benefit of the doubt which does result in him doing some quite idiotic things.

If you don’t know already, I hate Zooey Deschanel with every fiber not being used hating Gwyneth Paltrow and I just want to say I have a lot of hate fibers. Anyway, I found her to be tolerable in this movie. She was kind of a boring character but she wasn’t the manic pixie dream girl and I appreciated that. A lot. And she said the word “fuck” a number of times – a refreshing and much needed break from the wide-eyed adventurer who sings little songs and listens to only the coolest bands.

Steve Coogan was deplorable (as was the point) and skeezy. Elizabeth Banks and Emily Mortimer gave good performances. I found myself enjoying Rashida Jones as Zooey’s girlfriend to be one of the best performances and most likable characters. I loved her 15-year-old guy style and decidedly aggressive demeanor.

But damn, the complete and utter lack of Adam Scott made me just about lose it. He’s easily one of the most talented and hilarious actors and he just did not get enough screen time. Although, I did love seeing him bond with Paul Rudd on screen knowing that they’re tight in real life.

I liked the movie. I wasn’t blown away but it was a nice little comedy about accepting your family and your situation. I got a little bit emotionally invested and really wanted Ned to get Willie Nelson back (you’ll get it if you see it.) Honestly, not a lot else to say. This was the first writing project from Schisgall and Peretz (at least that ended up being made) and I expect if they keep at it, they’ll come out with some even stronger films later on.

Stars: 4/5

One thought on “49: Our Idiot Brother

Ready? Set. Film talk!

