54: The Thomas Crown Affair (the ’99 version)

The Thomas Crown Affair – August 6, 1999
Starring: Pierce Brosnan, Rene Russo, Denis Leary
Written by: Leslie Dixon, Kurt Wimmer
Directed by: John McTiernan

The plot: “A very rich and successful playboy amuses himself by stealing artwork, but may have met his match in a seductive detective.” – IMDB

My thoughts: I’d only ever seen a few bits and pieces of this when I was younger, so I finally decided to sit down and watch it in its entirety as I have a fervent love for clever heist movies. Unfortunately, I wasn’t especially impressed by and felt a bit let down about the amount of heist going on.

So the plot is pretty straightforward but the fact is, most of this movie all about Brosnan’s Thomas Crown and Russo’s Catherine Banning. They have an interesting relationship as she wants to catch him with stolen art and he doesn’t want to get caught but they’re both so amused by one another and they apparently really like having sex with each other (although ethically, that can’t really be a good idea, can it?) I was a little more than taken aback by going from Brosnan and Russo having dinner and flirting a bit to seeing Pierce Brosnan’s naked ass and Rene Russo’s heaving bosom.

The heists were clever, no doubt. Unfortunately, there just weren’t quite enough to suit my tastes. Not even that there weren’t enough heists, it was just kind of done and over with a bit too quickly, so the rest of the movie was more a question of “Will she catch him or will she think with her heart instead of her head?” And to be honest, I didn’t find Russo to be especially charming or sexy. She seemed like a second-rate Michelle Pfeiffer who was a bit menacing to be honest. Plus, it’s hard to get over the 90s fashion and hairstyles.

All in all, The Thomas Crown Affair didn’t live up my expectations. It was a bit more “feely” than I’d anticipated. Maybe if I hadn’t been in such a mood to see shit get stolen I might have enjoyed it more, but it just wasn’t enough for me.

Stars: 2/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

