71: Dark City

Dark City – February 27, 1998
Starring: Rufus Sewell, Kiefer Sutherland, Jennifer Connelly
Written and directed by: Alex Proyas, Lem Dobbs, David S. Goyer

The plot: “A man struggles with memories of his past, including a wife he cannot remember, in a nightmarish world with no sun and run by beings with telekinetic powers who seek the souls of humans.” – IMDB

My thoughts: I’m always extremely smug when I tell people that all I do in class is watch TV, read scripts, and watch movies, because it comes with the territory when you’re a media studies student getting a minor in film. I probably won’t be so smug in 8 months when no one wants to hire me because…oh, what is it that you did in school? You watched a lot of shit on different screens? Great.

Anyway, I watched Dark City for a film class today and I don’t know how I hadn’t seen it before now. It was really, really enjoyable. It was this great mystery/sci-fi/fantasy movie with the always awesome Kiefer Sutherland. Essentially, there’s a city (a dark city, yes) and weird shit is going down. Everyone conks out at 12 o’ clock every day and there’s never any sun. Buildings sprout up and strange men with no hair loom about the town.

I won’t spoil it because it was a little unexpected. I mean, maybe I’m just dumb but I was at least a little bit surprised by the big “reveal” toward the end. I was impressed by the art and sets (I’m sure I’ll end up tossing the word mise-en-scène quite liberally in whatever paper I may have to write about it in class.) It was gorgeous and had this wonderful aesthetic of being old and modern and progressive and futuristic all at the same time.

The score was excellent – done by Trevor Jones, the same guy behind Labyrinth, which really makes sense. Dark City was like Labyrinth meets a David Lynch movie but a bit easier to understand and both star Jennifer Connelly?

I literally just finished watching it so I’m still in that state of “Oh man, that movie was awesome! There was nothing – nothing at all I would change about it, that’s how perfect it was,” and that sentiment might change after some time. But for now, whether it’s simply new-movie elation or if it really was that great, I really loved it. Like a lot.

Stars: 5/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

