76: Haywire

Haywire – January 20, 2012
Starring: Gina Carano, Ewan McGregor, Michael Fassbender, Michael Douglas, Antonio Banderas, Michael Angarano
Written by: Lem Dobbs
Directed by: Steven Soderbergh

The plot: “A black ops super soldier seeks payback after she is betrayed and set up during a mission.” – IMDB

My thoughts: Oh Haywire, how could I not see you. A lady lead plus a few choice men in an action flick? I’ll take one please! I found that what I didn’t like about the movie was…what I liked? Let’s see if I can reform that sentence so it doesn’t sound like I’m A.) out of my mind crazy or B.) drunk. (This reminds me, I think I’d like to start a new bi-weekly segment entitled “drunk reviews” in which I get drunk while watching a movie and review it. Drunk.)

Anyway, let’s clarify that questionable statement. On one hand, I was hoping for/anticipating a Jason Statham style action flick – lots of weapons and outrageous combat scenes. So, when the fighting was raw and realistic looking, I was a bit let down. On the other hand, I kind of liked that Soderbergh went in that direction with the film. It provided a believable female lead (as well it should have – homegirl is an MMA fighter!) as you could obviously see her kicking ass in comfortable, steady, and lengthy (length for an action movie) shots. For being a movie about a woman who beats the shit out of multiple men, it was a quiet film.

There was one sequence I thought was kind of awesome: the Barcelona chase scene. It had a very 60s, new wave-y film style. Unfortunately, the internets are not complying with me in finding a full clip of the scene. Still, it’s awesome in that it stays trained on Gina’s character and gives a few overhead shots of how close she is to the guy she’s chasing after. And the music is all cool, 60s spy. Here’s a quick clip to give you a taste of what the scene is like (and you can see Gina kick some ass.)

What a lot of people are saying (and what I’m inclined to agree with) is that movie is all style and no substance. It’s a bit of a boring plot and at time moves along somewhat slow. However, getting to see a strong woman in a film that is cinematically gorgeous (her fight with Michael Fassbender is awesome) isn’t really the worst thing.

I feel sort of in-between about the movie. Visually lovely, plot a bit bland, quality acting (with the exception of Channing Tatum/Tatum Channing/Tanning Chatum/Chatum Tanning). I was a bit letdown by it. That and I couldn’t help but wonder who in the hale was putting her hair in cornrows throughout the film.

Stars: 2.5/5

One thought on “76: Haywire

Ready? Set. Film talk!

