86: Tell No One

Tell No One – November 1, 2006
Starring: Francois Cluzet, Marie-Josee Croze, Kristin Scott Thomas
Written by: Guillaume Canet, Philippe Lefebvre
Directed by: Guillaume Canet

The plot: “The pediatrician Alexandre Beck misses his beloved wife Margot Beck, who was brutally murdered eight years ago when he was the prime suspect. When two bodies are found near where the corpse of Margot was dumped, the police reopen the case and Alex becomes suspect again. The mystery increases when Alex receives an e-mail showing Margot older and alive.” – IMDB

My thoughts: Totally incredible. Honestly, I finished watching this movie last night and just sat on my bed basking in its beauty. I did not realize that the movie is based on a Harlan Coben novel which kind of explains the level of amazing the plot is. I haven’t read the book but if the book is nearly as good as the movie or better, I will be in complete awe.

The movie is, first and foremost, a love story and I think that’s important. The movie follows a couple who fell in love as children and grow up and get married. And when his wife dies, he starts going through the motions of life. However, after some anonymous e-mails, it seems his wife might still be alive.

And that’s all I’m going to say because the plot is wonderful and kept me guessing the whole time. There are a lot of characters that all seem equally shady and a little bit guilty of doing something wrong. In a way, it reminded me of a less dark/twisted Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Mostly just that it was a drama/mystery/thriller/romance all rolled in to one and dealt a lot with family relations. The main character isn’t tatt’d or pierced or anything, it’s just got a similar…vibe.

Honestly, I don’t know what I can say about this movie aside from the fact that I love, love, LOVED it. The acting was top notch, it was gorgeous to look at, the plot was great, and the ending…ugh, all my creys, friends. All my creys.

And yes, it’s in French and yes, it’s worth reading the subtitles. PLUS! The soundtrack is fantastic. Not only is the original music wonderful (it won a Cesar Award for Best Music Written for a Film), it also features music from Jeff Buckley, Otis Redding, and Groove Armada.

Stars: 5/5

P.S. It’s getting the good old Hollywood remake. I am devastated.

One thought on “86: Tell No One

Ready? Set. Film talk!

