87: Gone

Gone – February 24, 2012
Starring: Amanda Seyfried, Daniel Sunjata, Jennifer Carpenter, Wes Bentley, Sebastian Stan
Written by: Allison Burnett
Directed by: Heitor Dahlia

My thoughts: As an Amanda Seyfried fan, I felt obligated to see this movie even though I thought to myself, “Self, what is a Lifetime movie doing being released nationwide in theaters?” But in reality, it exceeded my expectations and did not completely suck. Maybe I’m just biased and lean toward liking whatever Amanda does, but I was pleasantly (well, maybe “pleasantly” isn’t the correct word in relation to what this movie is about) surprised by the film.

This poster is strangely similar to the poster for 'Tell No One' which I just posted about. Weird...

This is kind of a spoiler but not totally so stop reading if you’re super worried that I’m going to ruin this movie for you. I was worried that they were going to make this a “Surprise! It was all in her head and she’s crazy!” or “She’s been committing the crimes and has a disassociated personality disorder. Gotcha!” M. Night Shyamalan bullshit kind of movie. Which would have made me mad because to me, it would have given the message about how females always overreact and blame men and blah blah blah. And I would have been mad. But nope, homegirl isn’t crazy and proves the police wrong.

For a movie with a somewhat dark plot, comedy manages to sneak its way in mostly through Seyfried telling ridiculous stories to get people to tell her what she needs to know and by telling people off. She’s just so damn likable. And her hair! Every time I see her it makes me wish I hadn’t cut my hair off.

I don’t really want to spoil it but there is one character that they make seem a little bit shady who you might think “Oh shit, it’s him! He’s been messing with her this whole time!” when ultimately, this is a full-on revenge story. It’s straightforward, it doesn’t aim for a big twist at the end and I actually kind of liked that. The satisfaction comes from Seyfried’s character winning in the end.

Gone isn’t a blow-you-away amazing movie but it’s not a bad flick. I found it satisfying – I wanted to do a little fist pump at the end and say “Fuck yeah!” at the climax of the movie and I found parts of it to be perfectly tense. Amazing? No. Enjoyable? Yes. So there you go.

Stars: 3/5

2 thoughts on “87: Gone

  1. I just found your blog on the WordPress “new movie posts” page (I don’t know the exact title!) and I have to say it’s one of the best-organized ones I’ve seen.

  2. I love Amanda Seyfried, but I hated this movie, I though it was very childish, I may be biased because I love crimes and thriller and these type of movies and I have watched so many that can’t appreciate the ones that don’t make double check the lock on my door.

Ready? Set. Film talk!

