88: Bellflower (yes, I finally saw it!)

Bellflower – August 5, 2011
Starring: Evan Glodell, Tyler Dawson, Jessie Wiseman, Rebekah Brandes
Written and directed by: Evan Glodell

The plot: “Two friends spend all their free time building flame-throwers and weapons of mass destruction in hopes that a global apocalypse will occur and clear the runway for their imaginary gang “Mother Medusa”.” – IMDB

My thoughts: Bellflower confused me a little bit. My main question is whether everything we saw actually happened. The movie is narratively linear and consistent for at least three quarters of the movie and then all of a sudden we’re seeing…flashbacks? Or maybe we’ve never advanced past a particular point and we’ve simply been seeing what Woodrow (which, give me a break about that name. For real?) is imagining? I lean toward the end being all in Woodrow’s mind because the end is way too crazy to be real.

I haven’t heard so many “dude’s” spoken in a movie since Dude, Where’s My Car, which was simultaneously hilarious and realistic. Even I’m guilty of frequently using the word “dude” an unnecessary amount. I guess it made the movie realistic enough – I definitely felt like I’ve met all of those people at some point in my life. I can’t say I liked those people, but they’re “real.” What wasn’t realistic to me was where in the hell are these guys getting their money to build this car?! They appeared to be living at a financial level similar to a college student, in other words, they didn’t seem to have enough money to own a place bigger than a kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. And yet, neither of the two main characters busy building flame-throwers and muscle cars appear to have a job of any sort. Which makes me hate them.

Visually, I really enjoyed the movie. The colors were gorgeous. They definitely took advantage of contrasting colors, especially black against bright backdrops and sunsets and sunrises and all of that good stuff. But where it succeeded stylistically, it fell short in overall meaning to me. I guess it was supposed to be a metaphor for a mental, personal apocalypse rather than the typical understanding of apocalypse. It was definitely about love and destruction but everything seemed to get a bit fuzzy. What relationship was the main focus? There were so many going on it was hard to tell which was the key relationship. What was I supposed to get out of the movie? Anything? I don’t really know.

All I know is that this might be an instance of awesome trailer, mediocre movie. Which is such a disappointment because I was so obviously jazzed to see this.

Stars: 2.5/5

Ready? Set. Film talk!

