To Rome with Love (2012)

Admittedly, I’m a hipster douchebag who enjoys Woody Allen movies (I’m going to overlook his creep-factor and view him as an artist. Or whatever.) I let out a victorious “YES!” when Midnight in Paris won best Original Screenplay at the Academy Awards and then quickly looked around to make sure no one was around to hear me. So yeah, I enjoy some Woody Allen from time to time.

Unfortunately, not such a fan of To Rome with Love. I don’t even know how to describe it – a romantic comedy that is both surrealist and realist? I guess that’s as good as it’ll get. The acting was okay, the stories were okay, the visuals were okay, the dialogue was probably the best part but only in some parts.

toromewithlove

Essentially the movie is four separate stories, all unrelated but all occurring in Rome. And really, only one of them was enjoyable and it was the one with Alec Baldwin, Jesse Eisenberg, and Ellen Page. Essentially, Ellen Page is a terrible manic-pixie dream girl that Jesse Eisenberg ends up falling for and Alec Baldwin is some weird real-but-not-real mentor that can sometimes be heard? I don’t know. Anyway, Alec Baldwin just comments on how terrible and pretentious and fake Ellen Page’s character is. At one point, she’s about to go into a shpiel about art or something and he goes “Oh God, here comes the bullshit!” and Jesse Eisenberg understands but doesn’t care.

I thought it was clever.

Otherwise, the whole movie was really “meh”. For a movie set in Rome, it wasn’t especially lovely to look at. Midnight in Paris was infinitely prettier and more relatable. All the same, I don’t regret taking two hours out of my evening to lay around and watch it. If you’re a mega-fan of either Woody Allen or anyone in this movie, go for it. Otherwise, probably don’t bother. That’s all I’ve got.

** stars

Ready? Set. Film talk!

