The Impossible (2012)

theimpossible

Let’s get the obvious out of the way – yes, it’s a movie set in Thailand featuring white, English folks. Yep, I get it, everyone is offended. But ultimately, The Impossible has nothing to do with race or class or anything. Once a fucking tsunami hits, I don’t think either of those things is going to help you. The ability to swim, hold your breath, and deal with agonizing pain (both mental and physical) is what will get you through. As far as I know, a tsunami doesn’t see rich white people and say “Oh, pardon me sir and madam! I do say, now that I know your skin color and status, I shall flow around you. Do carry on and while you’re at it, have a spot of tea on me!” and it pours itself into a kettle and gives you a tip o’ the hat.

Moving on.

I cried. Like a baby. A number of times. Just tears, freely flowing down my face. I mean, I was full on ugly crying. Which means the movie was good. Mildly predictable? Well, if I hadn’t read some background information, I might have expected a slightly different ending. But I knew what was to come.

Admittedly, there was a fair amount of CGI involved – I mean, it was a tsunami. How couldn’t it be CGI? It certainly made everything look very intense and dramatic. I don’t know what a tsunami looks like when it happens to someone but it looks terrifying in this movie.

The movie ends up being pretty feel-good, which is certainly not the typical case in a natural disaster situation. Which is not to say that it wasn’t apparent on screen – it clearly was. And ultimately, mass audiences want to leave a theater feeling good, not depressed. Not that that’s an excuse, but there’s a reason things are done in a movie.

All I know is, I cried a lot and I felt moved. There, done.

***** stars

Ready? Set. Film talk!

