Vanilla Sky (2001)

Hey! It’s 2001 and I just saw Vanilla Sky! ~*~Tom Cruise~*~ was in it 🙂

I’m going to have to make this brief. My father has managed to set a time limit on my Internet use and I’m down to about 45 minutes. I spent too much time in chat rooms telling people I was two years older than I am and that I live in California. LOL.

I’m just fucking with you. It’s 2013 and I’m just now getting around to watching Vanilla Sky. I managed to go 12 years without being spoiled so SUCKIT!

I’m a sucker for Cameron Crowe. I wish that wasn’t true but it really is. If I could count the number of times I’ve watched Almost Famous, well, you would all question whether I’ve truly felt the sun on my skin.

So since I’m reviewing a 12-year-old movie, let’s talk probably the coolest theory: NONE OF THAT SHIT WAS REAL. WHAT! C’MON SON! I love the idea that the whole movie was purely fictional and wasn’t even pretending to be “real”. This whole idea stems from the idea that Cruise’s car sticker says 2/30/01 – a date that doesn’t exist. Boom, bitch!

But for real, I get why when people ask “You know Vanilla Sky?” and I say “Actually, no, I’ve not seen it,” everyone reacts with this face:

It was pretty good. I spent a fair amount of time thinking “WHAT THE FUUUUUCK!” and finally all of the reveals started happening and the world began to make sense. The acting was tip top – even Cameron Diaz who usually feels a little too girl-next-door kicked the ass. She plays kind of crazy really well, actually.

tomcrusie2tomcruise1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And Tom Cruise. Oh Tom Cruise. You crazy little Scientologist. I can’t help it – he’s got a handsome face. I know he’s roughly 5’2″ but 1983-…okay I just saw Jack Reacher and he did not look terrible in it. I can see your furrowed brows now and you can just stuff it. But the crazy. The crazy makes it impossible for me to take him seriously as a human being.

Well, I won’t review this so thoroughly. 12 years of the Internet will give you enough 411 about the movie. It was cool, it was interesting, I would recommend it, the soundtrack was killer, blah blah blah. It wasn’t perfect but it was pretty god damn good.

**** stars

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Sky (2001)

  1. It’s a very strange movie, but that’s what I liked about it so much in how it made me think and wonder about what was going on. It’s not perfect, I’ll grant ya that, but it held my interest the whole-way through. Good review.

Ready? Set. Film talk!

