Dark Skies (2013)

dark

Phew, it’s been a minute since I’ve written anything here. Sorry, I’ve been busy MOVING TO SEATTLE. Ahem, pardon me. Yelling my personal events is a real affliction.

I made the mistake of buying an IKEA lamp, which apparently takes the most difficult to find light bulbs in existence, so I’ve been in the dark in my bedroom for two nights now. Annoying, but also, perfect situation to watch a “scary” movie.

So, I watched Dark Skies and it was…not great with a hint of potential. I’ll be real, it does not take much in a horror movie to make me feel weird and paranoid and creeped out. I don’t think there are aliens in my closet waiting to terrorize me – but then again, that’s the set up for the movie so you never really know.

Simply put, Dark Skies is kind of just Paranormal Activity with aliens instead of demon things. Strange things start happening, stranger things keep happening, skepticism and reluctance to believe occur, and then BAM! everything comes to a head and we get a small moment of enlightenment.

For some reason, a person standing completely still and not reacting to you saying his/her name is one of the more horrific things to me. If that happened to me? If I had a spouse and I saw him standing in the yard at 3 AM and I was like, “Hey! Roberto! Roberto!” and he didn’t move a muscle or say anything? I would just yell, “FUCK YOU,” lock all of the doors, call my attorney in the middle of the night and tell him to start drawing up the papers so that I could divorce my sexy Italian husband. You know why? Because that shit. Ain’t. Right.

The movie has a kernel of depth. You’ve got all this alien shit going on and there are a fair number of alien-horror movie elements but at the same time, you’re watching the “perfect” American family breaking down before your eyes. A husband let go from his job, a wife trying to make up for that loss at her job, an angsty preteen, and a weird but nice little kid who, at first, seems to just really need therapy but ultimately, is being fucked with by aliens.

You see this husband and wife simultaneously doubting each other and needing to depend on each other. Physically, these aliens are doing some messed up shit. But at first, there are no aliens. There’s just this stuff going on and it’s putting a strain on the marriage and the family. At one point, Keri Russell contemplates if her no-name husband has been hitting their kids. She yells at him if he’s beaten their sons. That’s heavy. And the aliens’ fault.

Was this an intended thing? Witnessing how outside influences can affect a family? I have no idea. I didn’t make this movie. But it was an interesting aspect and I’d like to give someone the credit of creating this metaphor. And if someone hasn’t taken the credit yet, they should.

** stars (cool metaphor also, kind of scared me in spite of the cliched going-ons. Oh, and J.K. Simmons is in this.)

Ready? Set. Film talk!

