Identity Thief (2013)

identity

I don’t know why I watched Identity Thief. I knew exactly what I was getting into and still, I did it. Well, let’s just say I did it all in the name of research.

This is going to be short you guys: don’t bother.

I wish I had liked this, or rather, I wish this had exceeded my expectations. I like Melissa McCarthy and I have since Gilmore Girls. I like Jason Bateman. And despite my like for both actors, eugh.

I should have known better. The guy that wrote The Hangover II and III, Scary Movie 3 and 4 among a few other junk titles wrote this little piece of Hollywood bullshit.

The movie has a dilemma in that it can’t quite find its footing: a comedy or a tragedy/drama? It’s got a bit of both in a way that doesn’t work even a little. I’ll give it to Melissa – homegirl goes for it with her physical comedy. Unfortunately, it doesn’t matter. It’s “funny”, it’s “touching”, it’s offensive (just in some parts. Not enough for me to full on Black Rock rant) and it falls short. Everywhere.

If you want a funny road trip adventure comedy just save yourself the trouble and acquire a copy of Planes, Trains, and Automobiles. And don’t watch that shit on TV or you’ll miss one of the funniest movie scenes ever.

No stars for this one, guys.

Ready? Set. Film talk!

